Parliamentarians Take Plea

Media Team   |   25 Jan 2021

All except one (1) of the Members of Parliament (MP) charged for alleged fraudulent conduct took their plea in the Suva Magistrates Court today.

Ratu Suliano Matanitobua, Salote Radrodro, Simione Rasova, Nikolau Nawaikula, Peceli Vosanibola and Adi Litia Qionibaravi pleaded not guilty to one (1) count each of False Information to Public Servant and Obtaining Financial Advantage.

Counsel for Vijendra Prakash (MP) informed the Court that he needed more time to discuss plea with his client.

The Fiji Independent Commission Against Corruption (FICAC) charged the seven (7) MPs last December for allegedly breaching the Parliamentary Remunerations Act of 2014 by claiming a total of $186,649.20 FJD in allowances, which they were not eligible to receive.

FICAC State Counsels Josanne Pene and Adrian Sharma informed the Court that the formal application to transfer the cases to the High Court will be filed within 7 days.

The matter was adjourned to 9 February 2021.